Ranji Trophy 2024: Vidarbha Beats Madhya Pradesh To Meet Mumbai In Final

Vidarbha secured a 62-run triumph over Madhya Pradesh in the Ranji Trophy semifinal, with Aditya Thakare and Yash Thakur playing pivotal roles in dismantling the Madhya Pradesh batting lineup. Despite Yash Dubey’s commendable innings of 94, Madhya Pradesh’s efforts fell short. Madhya Pradesh will rue their missed opportunity after squandering an 82-run advantage in the initial innings. Vidarbha is set to confront Mumbai in the final match.

Aditya Thakare and Yash Thakur orchestrated the decisive victory against Madhya Pradesh, leading Vidarbha to a 62-run win on the fifth day of the first Ranji Trophy semifinal held at the VCA Stadium (Civil Lines) in Nagpur. With only 93 runs needed on the final day to secure a spot in the final, Madhya Pradesh collapsed in the 11th over, with Thakare and Thakur claiming two wickets each.

Despite Madhya Pradesh initially holding an advantage, their situation worsened when Kumar Kartikeya’s risky shot in the second over led to his dismissal by Thakare. Anubhav Agarwal followed suit shortly after when Thakare’s delivery skidded low and crashed into the stumps.

Vidarbha’s path to the final became clearer with Saransh Jain’s departure, who was a crucial player for Madhya Pradesh. Thakur’s delivery found its way through Saransh’s defense, dismissing him and diminishing MP’s hopes further.

Though Madhya Pradesh’s last batsman, Kulwant Khejroliya, showed resilience, Thakur eventually sealed Vidarbha’s victory by bowling him out. This final blow marked the end of Madhya Pradesh’s resistance, erasing memories of Vidarbha’s early batting struggles and their initial deficit. Vidarbha, a two-time champion, now looks forward to competing for a third title against Mumbai starting March 10.

Stay tuned to Panchayiti for more such updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *