Asia Cup 2023: 17 Members Indian Squad Unveiled by BCCI

The BCCI recently disclosed the Indian squad for the Asia Cup 2023, with Rohit Sharma serving as captain. Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, and Jasprit Bumrah return in this ODI tournament from injury, while Tilak Verma unfolds to make his ODI debut. The composition of the Indian team for the Asia Cup became public at the selection committee meeting in Delhi. The opening match of the Asia Cup is between Pakistan and Nepal on the 30 of this month in Multan. India will play every game in Sri Lanka, starting with their matchup with archrival Pakistan on the 2 of the subsequent month in Kandy.

Related Read | Asia Cup 2023 – Details of India vs Pakistan Matches

Seventeen members of India’s 2023 Asia Cup team will get revealed by BCCI

KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer are back, and Tilak Verma gets called up for his first ODI. In this ODI series, Jasprit Bumrah also returns from injury.

Asia Cup 2023

For cricket fans, the Asia Cup 2023, which will take place in September 2023, is one of the most anticipated cricket events. The Asia Cup 2023, which will occur before the ICC World Cup 2023 in October and November, will feature six teams competing against one another.

KL Rahul & Shreyas Iyer is back, while Tilak Verma gets called for his ODI Debut

The 17-person Indian team for the Asia Cup will get revealed. Rohit Sharma, the captain of the Indian team, was also present. The Indian team now includes Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul. In addition, the young batsman Tilak Verma will mark his ODI debut. However, Yuzvendra Chahal, a leg spinner, did not qualify for the team.

Jasprit Bumrah makes his comeback from injury in the ODI

After demonstrating his fitness in the current T20I series in Ireland, where he leads the Indian team, Jasprit Bumrah returns to the 50-over format. Additionally, Prasidh Krishna got a spot on the team, and Sanju Samson served as a backup player.

Agarkar and Rohit made the team official

The squad emerged following the selection committee meeting in Delhi, which took over by chief selector Ajit Agarkar and reflects the composition of the Indian team for the ODI World Cup later this year. Following a press conference, Agarkar and India’s captain Rohit Sharma made the team official.

Related Read | Asia Cup Schedule

About Asia Cup 2023

On the 30 of this month, Pakistan and Nepal play in Multan to kick off the Asia Cup. Starting with the contest against archrival Pakistan on September 2 in Kandy, India will play all their games in Sri Lanka.

Group A includes India, Pakistan, and Nepal; Group B, which has greater competition, includes Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan. The ‘Super 4’ stage gets reached by the top two teams from each group.

The competition will feature 13 games overall, with Pakistan hosting four and Sri Lanka hosting nine. September 17 will see the final of the Asia Cup in Colombo.

Asia Cup 2023: Indian squad

Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Hardik Pandya, Prasidh Krishna, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *