IPL 2023: CSK Wins 5th IPL Title In Last Ball Thriller, Dhoni Is Here To Stay

CSK vs. GT: Chennai, led by MS Dhoni, defeated Gujarat in a thrilling rain-shortened game to win the IPL five times

Ravindra Jadeja scored a six and a four off the final 2 deliveries from Mohit Sharma when 10 of 2 balls were required to give Chennai Super Kings their historic victory. With this, the Chennai Super Kings win the IPL 2023 championship game and hold the fifth IPL title equaling MI.

IPL 2023: CSK Wins 5th IPL Title In Last Ball Thriller

IPL 2023: CSK Wins 5th IPL Title In Last Ball Thriller

Under MS Dhoni’s leadership, CSK won its fifth title

Under the legendary MS Dhoni’s leadership, CSK won five trophies in 14 seasons! At the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Monday, May 29, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won their fifth IPL championship by defeating Gujarat Titans (GT) by five wickets (DLS) in a rain-affected thriller. In the very last ball, Ravindra Jadeja scored a four off the last ball from Mohit Sharma to give Chennai a historic victory.

Watch The Winning Moments And Emotions On CSK’s Official Twitter Handle

Chennai was given a target of 171 runs in 15 overs in a rain-delayed game by DWL

The second innings had to be shortened to 15 overs because the game between the two teams had to be stopped earlier due to a passing shower, leaving Chennai with 171 to chase. In the first innings, Gujarat Titans posted 214/4, the highest total ever in an IPL final, against the Chennai Super Kings at the Narendra Modi Stadium, with Sai Sudharsan (96) just missing out on his century.

CSK Batting performance

In IPL 2023 championship match on Monday, Chennai Super Kings defeated Gujarat Titans by five wickets thanks to a masterful batting performance.

Opening pair Conway and Ruturaj attacked GT’s star-studded bowling lineup mercilessly, setting the tone for CSK’s aggressive performance. By dismissing both of CSK’s openers in the same over, Noor Ahmad assisted GT in regaining momentum.

The next batsman, Ajinkya Rahane, hammered some elegant fours and sixes to increase the run rate. Rahane’s partner Dube initially struggled, but in Rashid Khan’s final over, he finally found his rhythm and smashed him for two maximum.

Rayudu’s late surge, which included two sixes and a four in the thirteenth over, allowed CSK to reenter the match. When Rayudu was out, Dhoni was out for a Duck in the next ball. The final score was CSK needing 13 runs off the last six balls.

After Mohit Sharma bowled four ferocious yorkers in the 15th over, veteran Ravindra Jadeja scored a six and a four to end the match.

Chennai crossed the finish line in the final ball of a rain-shortened game while chasing a target of 171 runs.

GT Batting performance

In the IPL 2023 championship match, MS Dhoni, who had previously won the toss, chose to have Gujrat Titans bat first.

Shubman Gill and Wriddhiman Saha, the home team’s openers, gave them a head start while providing them momentum early in their innings. Shubman Gill was dropped on the score of 2 by Chahar. Gill continued to hit some exceptional fours and sixes, which enabled GT to score 30 runs off the third and fourth overs combined.

As a result, GT establishes a significant first-innings total against the powerful CSK. The great fielder of all time, Jadeja, blundered to miss a run-out opportunity, but in the same over, he misled Gill to help CSK achieve their first-ever breakthrough thanks to a lightning-quick stumping from legend MS Dhoni.

Saha went on to score a fifty, but it was uncapped Indian batsman Sai Sudharsan’s heroic batting hitting 96 in the finals that proved to be the real game-changer. That missed run-out opportunity of Saha proved to be too costly for CSK. No matter which bowler Sai was up against, he kept hitting boundaries. He, unfortunately, fell short of a well-deserved hundred, but he still played exceptionally well.

IPL 2023: All Awards

Player of the Series: Shubman Gill
Emerging player of the tournament: Yashasvi Jaiswal
Super striker of the Series: Glenn Maxwell

With its fifth IPL championship, CSK, which came in ninth last season, tied Mumbai Indians for the most victories. Dhoni tied Rohit Sharma for the most championships and won as a captain by competing in his 11th final.

2 Pings & Trackbacks

  1. Pingback: Donald Trump and MS Dhoni Played Golf Together

  2. Pingback: MS Dhoni discloses the moment he decided to retire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *