India Wins 4th Consecutive Border Gavaskar Trophy By 2-1

India won the series 2-1 over Australia after the fourth Test in Ahmedabad ended in a draw, with the hosts keeping the Border-Gavaskar trophy for the fourth time in a row.

India Wins 4th Consecutive BGT 2-1 | Final Match Ends In Draw

India Wins 4th Consecutive BGT 2-1 | Final Match Ends In Draw

The series finale was played on a lifeless pitch with just 22 wickets falling over 15 sessions, in contrast to the first three Tests, which were completed in less than three days on raging turners.

Australia was easily guided to safety on day five of the match by Travis Head (90) and Marnus Labuschange (63 not out), as neither team was able to secure a victory. Australia was still 91 runs behind India at the start of the day.

The teams exchanged handshakes shortly after Indian No. 3 Cheteshwar Pujara bowled his 102nd Test over.
Australia declared on 175-2 with Labuschange and Steve Smith (10 not out) at the crease after scoring 480 in their first innings, which included centuries by Usman Khawaja (180) and Cameron Green (114).

However, India batted even better, amassing 571 marks as Virat Kohli (186) scored his first century in more than three years and young opener Shubman Gill scored an outstanding 128.

Matt Kuhnemann, Australia’s regular No. 11, was the only wicket to fall in the first session on Monday after being sent in as a nightwatchman on Sunday in place of Khawaja.

After injuring himself on the field on Sunday, the in-form opener is dealing with an unspecified leg injury and appeared sore while running in the nets before play on day five.

Khawaja was only allowed to bat if Australia found themselves in serious trouble while attempting to save the match.
After winning the first two Tests of the four-match series, India retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.
After their illustrious nine-wicket victory in Indore for the third Test, Australia could have achieved a rare 2-2 series result with a victory in Ahmedabad.

India will make every effort to put pressure on Australia, who are 88 runs behind but have all 10 wickets in hand despite being in a draw-like situation as of Day 4’s stumps. But at last, the hosts won the Border-Gavaskar trophy for a record-breaking fourth time.
In the presentation ceremony of the final test, India’s captain, Rohit Sharma says “the series was fantastic. It was a good experience for some young players who were playing in this for the first time, he adds. He expressed his satisfaction with the outcome and expressed his pride at the team’s performance in the Delhi Test after falling behind in the game. Finally, he expresses his satisfaction with his performance and his joy at winning the series.”

Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been jointly declared PLAYER OF THE SERIES. For his brilliant century in the last test, Virat Kohli is named PLAYER OF THE MATCH.

The last time India hosted Australia, they won 2-1, and they also won unforgettable away series wins in 2018-19 and 2020-21.
However, Australia and India will meet again in June, with the two superpowers contending for a spot in the World Test Championship final at The Oval in London.

Australia’s next Test tour to India is scheduled for 2027, with star players such as Steve Smith, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc, and Usman Khawaja unlikely to return in four years.

For more such updates stay tuned to Panchayiti

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *