Live Updates: Rajasthan Assembly Election Witnesses Over 55% Voter Turnout by 3 pm

The ongoing Rajasthan Assembly Election, contested by 1,862 candidates, has seen an impressive voter turnout of more than 55% as of 3 pm. The total number of eligible voters stands at 5.25 crore.

Today, polling is taking place for 199 out of the 200 seats in Rajasthan from 7 am to 6 pm. However, the election in Sriganganagar’s Karanpur seat has been suspended following the unfortunate demise of Congress candidate and incumbent MLA Gurmeet Singh Koonar.

The demographic breakdown of voters indicates that 1.71 crore individuals fall within the 18 to 30 age bracket, and 22.61 lakh are new voters aged 18 to 19.

In a strategic move, the BJP has fielded seven Members of Parliament, including figures like Rajyavardhan Rathore, Diya Kumari, and Kirodi Lal Meena, for the Assembly elections. Notably, some of these MPs, initially featured in the first list, are contesting seats that might have otherwise been allocated to supporters of Vasundhara Raje.

With the election underway, the significant voter turnout reflects the engagement and participation of the electorate in the democratic process of the state.

Related Read | Rajasthan Assembly Election Campaigning Comes To An End

One Ping

  1. Pingback: 'Not Modi Ji's Election': Ashok Gehlot Confident Of Rajasthan Win

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *