Assembly Elections 2023 Results : BJP’s Thumping Victory In 3 States, Congress Uproots KCR In Telangana

The recent significant achievement is expected to uplift the saffron party in anticipation of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections next year. Across four states—Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Telangana—the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) predominantly benefited, securing victory in two key states in the nation’s heartland while maintaining a landslide in the overall results. Concurrently, the Congress successfully overturned the outcome in another southern state this year, following their win in Telangana.

Assembly Elections 2023 Results

Assembly Elections 2023 Results

Interesting to note that the same three states namely Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, and Chhatisgarh elected Congress government in 2018 assembly elections but that did not had any effect in the voting patterns of the subsequent Lok Sabha elections in 2019. Will be interesting to see if the so called semi finals before the general elections 2024 will change the voting trends or not.

Here are 11 important points around the 4 state assembly elections 2023 results:

1. In the Chhattisgarh assembly, with an absolute majority, the BJP secured 54 seats, leaving the Congress trailing with 35 seats.

2. Chhattisgarh’s longest-serving Chief Minister, Raman Singh, emerged victorious over Congress’s Girish Dewangan in the Rajnandgaon constituency, winning by a margin of 45,084 votes. Reflecting on the BJP’s 15-year tenure in Chhattisgarh, Singh stated, “No one could point a finger at us.”

3. Despite losing the position of Chief Minister in Chhattisgarh, Bhupesh Baghel triumphed in the Patan assembly seat, defeating BJP candidate Vijay Baghel by 19,723 votes.

4. In Madhya Pradesh, the BJP successfully overcame anti-incumbency, securing 163 seats out of 230 in the assembly.

5. Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan led the saffron party to a resounding victory, defeating BJP’s Vikram Mastal in the Budhni constituency by a margin of 1,04,974 votes.

6. Touted as the Congress’s Chief Ministerial face in Madhya Pradesh, Kamal Nath secured the Chhindwara seat, defeating BJP’s Vivek Bunty Sahu by a margin of 36,594 votes.

7. In Rajasthan, the right-wing party wrested power from the Ashok Gehlot-led Congress, securing 115 out of 199 seats.

8. Former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje, among other BJP frontrunners, retained her Jhalrapatan assembly constituency with a margin of 53,193 votes.

9. Ashok Gehlot won the Sardarpura seat in Jodhpur for the sixth time but with a reduced margin—26,396 votes compared to 45,597 the last time.

10. In Telangana, the assembly poll results marked the end of BRS’ decade-long rule, with Congress clinching 64 seats in the 119-member assembly.

11. Congress’s prominent candidate A Revanth Reddy won the Kodangal constituency with a margin of over 32,000 votes, defeating his closest BRS rival Patnam Narender Reddy.

Also Read | Exit Polls: Telangana and Chhatisgarh To Congress, MP to BJP, Close Fight In Rajasthan

2 Pings & Trackbacks

  1. Pingback: Revanth Reddy Oath Taking Ceremony : INDIA Bloc Leaders Expected To Attend

  2. Pingback: Vishnu Deo Sai : Tribal Leader To Take Oath As Chhatisgarh CM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *