Opposition Parties To Boycott New Parliament Inauguration

19 opposition parties band together to boycott the swearing-in of the new Parliament

A conflict over the swearing-in of the new Parliament: The inauguration of the new building by prime minister Narendra Modi will be boycotted, according to 19 opposition parties.

Opposition Parties To Boycott New Parliament Inauguration

Opposition Parties To Boycott New Parliament Inauguration

The opposition parties boycotted the inauguration ceremony of the new Parliament

An “authoritarian prime minister and his government” were criticized by 19 opposition parties, including the Congress and Delhi’s ruling Aam Aadmi Party, as they announced their intention to boycott the weekend inauguration of the new Parliament building on Wednesday morning.

To directly reach the people of India with our message, we choose to abstain from the new Parliament’s opening and keep up our resistance to the Prime Minister’s authoritarian rule.

A direct assault on our democracy

The opposition parties claimed that despite their differences with the governing Bharatiya Janata Party, they had been open to “sinking our differences and marking this occasion.” However, they claimed that prime minister Narendra Modi’s decision to inaugurate the Parliament building by himself, completely sidelining President (Droupadi) Murmu, was “not only a grave insult but a direct assault on our democracy.”

For an Act of Parliament to become operative, Murmu, who also convenes, prorogues, and addresses the House, must give her consent. Without her, the prime minister will officially open the new Parliament building.

Joint statement of the opposition

In a joint statement, the opposition, which has been consistently united against the BJP, also charged Modi with “relentlessly hollowing out the Parliament” following his controversial expulsion from the Lok Sabha following his conviction in the “Modi surname” case.

The opposition even brought up the three farm laws that sparked violent protests and looting before a massive movement by farmers, opposition figures, and civil society activists forced the Modi administration to recall and repeal all three of the laws.

Who has signed the statement?

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party, the latter of which supports the Congress in Maharashtra and the former in Tamil Nadu, are among the organizations that signed this statement.

The Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United), which has reached out to opposition leaders like Naveen Patnaik of the Biju Janata Dal in Odisha to bring them together before the 2024 general election, is also a signatory.

The Communist Party of India and CPI (Marxist), the Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena faction (also a Congress ally), the Samajwadi Party of former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav, and Tejashwi Yadav, the deputy chief minister of the Rashtriya Janata Dal of Bihar, are also included on the list.

Who will attend the opening of the new Parliament?

Of course, the BJP and members of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance as well as a few other major parties will be present.

A decision is anticipated for Thursday from the Bharat Rashtra Samithi, the party in power in Telangana.
According to party MP Vijaysai Reddy on Wednesday afternoon, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy will attend the ceremony.

How has the BJP responded?

Amit Shah, the Union Minister of Housing, argued against politicizing the issue, and Hardeep Singh Puri cited the opening of Parliament annexes and libraries by Congress Prime Ministers Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi. In response to a tweet from Congressman Shashi Tharoor, Puri questioned why our leader of the government couldn’t do the same.

What response did Congress give?

The opposition parties’ decision to boycott the opening ceremony of the new Parliament building on 28 May was applauded by Congress leader KC Venugopal.

At noon on Sunday, Modi will officially open the new Parliament structure.

One Ping

  1. Pingback: Matter In Supreme Court : President Should Inaugurate New Parliament Building

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *