Karnataka Elections: Another BJP Legislator Joins Congress

Before the Karnataka Assembly elections, former BJP state legislator Gopalakrishna switched to the Congress party

After joining, Gopalakrishna stated that he will work towards the party’s victory in the districts of Ballari, Chitradurga, and Vijayanagara.

The number of BJP and JD(S) leaders joining Congress in advance of the May 10 Assembly elections in Karnataka is evidence that public sentiment is in favor of the party and that it will win power, according to the state unit president of the party, D K Shivakumar. He was speaking after welcoming N.Y. Gopalakrishna, a former legislator from the Kudligi BJP who resigned on Friday, into the party.

When Congress did not offer him a ticket for the 2018 elections, Gopalakrishna left the party and joined the BJP.

The fact that many BJP and JD(S) politicians are knocking on our door is proof that the state’s voters support Congress and that we are moving in the right direction towards power, according to Shivakumar.

He told reporters here that Gopalakrishna had stepped down as a BJP MLA and had joined Congress, and that JD(S) MLA K M Shivalinge Gowda had also resigned and would be joining the party soon.

The KPCC chief added that the voluntary joining of BJP and JD(S) legislators by Congress was “big evidence” that the public had decided to make changes in response to the “failure of the double engine government.”

“There are many candidates who want to serve in the Congress, but the party has not promised any candidates seats. We will review every name and only if we have space for them will we consider them,” he continued, noting that some people are prepared to work for the party and join it without conditions.

Before joining the BJP and winning in Kudligi, Gopalakrishna, a six-time MLA, was with Congress and had previously been elected four times from the Molakalmuru Assembly segment in the Chitradurga district as well as once from Ballari. He joined the BJP before the election after being denied a Congress ticket in 2018.

Although senior leader Sriramulu contested from Molakalmuru, the BJP gave him a seat from Kudligi in the Vijayanagara district. From there, he was victorious.

Gopalakrishna, who joined the party, recalled the history of his family’s involvement with Congress and pledged to work for the party’s success in the districts of Ballari, Chitradurga, and Vijayanagara.

It is up to the party leadership to choose whether to nominate him for the Molakalmuru Assembly seat. He stated that he will work to restore the state’s previous Congress administration.

Puttanna and Baburao Chinchansur, two BJP MLCs, stepped down from the Legislative Council to enter Congress. Following his resignation as an MLA on March 27, JD(S) MLA S R Srinivas (Gubbi Srinivas alias Vasu) also joined the Congress.

Also Read|
Congress Winning Karnataka
Rahul Gandhi Announced Yuva Nidhi Scheme For Karnataka Elections
Karnataka Elections Announced: Voting On 10th May

2 Pings & Trackbacks

  1. Pingback: Another Blow To BJP In Karnataka | Sitting MLA Refuses To Run For Elections

  2. Pingback: Karnataka Elections: After leaving BJP, Ex-Karnataka CM Jagadish Shettar Joins Congress

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *